Who We Are‎ > ‎

Governing Board

The Governing Board is composed of representatives of the local
community, the Local Education Authority, the local Church and elected parent governors. There are currently 15 members.
The Government has given a range of duties to school governing boards, and powers to carry these out. These powers include:
  • Deciding (with the Head) the aims and policies of the school, and how the standards of education can be improved.
  • Deciding the conduct of the school - in general, how it should be run.
  • Helping to draw up the school development plan.
  • Deciding (within set constraints) how to spend the school's budget.
  • Ensuring the National Curriculum is taught and reporting on assessments and examination results.
  • Selecting the Head Teacher and Deputy Head.
  • Appointing, promoting and supporting other staff, in consultation with the Head.
  • Acting as a link between the local community and the school.
  • Drawing up an action plan after an inspection, and monitoring how the plan is put into practice.
The Governors


Archdeacon                                John Street
Johnathan White                        Robert Thornley

Staff Governors:               
Sam Bishop (Head Teacher)        Debbie Flanagan (School Manager)
Joan Welch (KS1 Lead & Teacher)                         


Rev'd Bill Britt                            Sue Steptoe
Anna Matthews (Co-chair)

Parent Governors:

Emma Garside                            Caroline Chessum
Louise Cavanagh                         

Others - Appointed

Anne Clarey                                Robert Thornley (Co-chair)

Keeley Etere,
22 Mar 2021, 14:33
Keeley Etere,
15 Feb 2017, 09:06
Keeley Etere,
28 Jun 2020, 08:57
Keeley Etere,
21 Jun 2021, 13:07
Keeley Etere,
15 Oct 2020, 15:27